Skip to content

Nuts! Whole Hazelnuts!

February 21, 2016

 

A Birds Eye View From A Squirrel’s Nest…
.
.
I’m sat here high up in my dray
the forest floor seems so far away
the nuts have fallen, rich food is calling
yet high above a storm is squalling
but I daren’t leave home just yet
cos I hate it when my tail gets wet!
But if I don’t, and I surely won’t
scramble down to the harvest below
my nuts will get stolen
some others gut will be swollen
and my stash will be empty, oh no!
So I quickly peek, dry route to seek
from here to harvest floor
I flit, twist and zip
missing almost every drip
until I can gather no more!
My dray is now full, and so is my belly
the rest of my stash
hid in an old smelly welly
but the nuts are dry
and now so am I
so I’ll just nestle back down
and watch the rest of the world drown
just keeping a wide open eye
for those pesky thieving magpies!

.

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. sgtcookieblog permalink

    Really enjoyed this, top effort. Loved the line about hating his tail getting wet. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

